Writing software for the HD6309 computer: Micro Pascal

At the time of writing, the HD6309 computer does not have an operating system. It can, however, load binary/SREC files via the UART terminal. I have been using the LWTOOLS toolchain to write programs in MC6809/HD6309 assembly language. This has been workable but not very efficient in terms of the time it takes to write them.

I have been searching for compilers and interpreters that I can port to the HD6309 computer. Several exist in the form of FLEX or OS9 binaries. None, that I could find, were available in source code format. Grant Searle solved this by recreating BASIC from the Tandy Color Computer based on the Unravelled series of books. I wanted a more structured language than basic, something more like C or PASCAL.

My search lead to a series of articles on the implementation of Tiny Pascal in BYTE magazine, which contains the full source code in BASIC. This piqued my interest because it, like many early PASCAL systems, produces byte code (also termed p-code) for a simple virtual machine, instead of code that runs directly on the CPU.
The rationale behind this is that it is much easier to port the virtual machine to new architectures and CPUs, compared to creating an architecture-dependent native code generator. The price to pay is lower execution speed; something I’m willing to live with.

Liking the idea of a virtual machine, I set out to re-write the Tiny Pascal compiler in C/C++. With an abundance of C/C++ compilers available for Windows, Linux and OSX, I though it would make a nice contribution to the retro community.
While the original BASIC code is well documented and the article explains most of it, I gave up — I had overestimated my tolerance level of BASIC 🙂 .

Not wanting to abandon the idea, I’m now in the process of writing a new Tiny Pascal-inspired cross-compiler called Micro Pascal.

Micro Pascal will have the following features:
* 16-bit integers.
* 8-bit characters.
* string constants.
* FOR .. DO loop.
* IF .. THEN .. ELSE.
* logical and arithmetic operations.
* direct memory access through built-in MEM[] function.
* a stack-based virtual machine.
* well-documented byte code.

The work-in-progress compiler is available via my GITHUB account. Check back from time to time for progress updates!

Leave a Reply

